top of page
  • Writer's pictureglycdeovimoonfvenn

How To Make A Bootable Usb Mac For Snow Leopard



WoodHeBe, you are my hero!!!!!for weeks i've been struggling to find a solution for my crashing MacBook Pro mid 2010, and my last resort was to roll back to the original OS - snow leopard, however because i did not have the install CD, no image i downloaded off the web worked for me - i almost gave up.well, thanks again.


I've got a bit of an issue, I've been given five mac books with snow leopard installed with two accounts. An admin account which no one has the login details for (setup by a previous employee) and a standard user account. The standard user account doesn't have permissions to do anything and I mean anything, you cannot view PDF files or listen to MP3 it requires admin privileges. So pretty much these laptops are useless at the moment, I was going to download snow leopard and just do a fresh install however I thought I'd ask here first. Is there some way to reset the admin credentials if I boot into recovery, or something similar to Windows Hirens for OSX.




How To Make A Bootable Usb Mac For Snow Leopard




So Command and R doesn't seem to work on any of the macbooks I made a bootable USB drive with a dmg of snow leopard using transmac and when I boot using the options key I only get the mac hard drive as an option.


Note: this procedure requires that you create an .img file from the .iso file you download. It will also change the filesystem that is on the USB stick to make it bootable, so backup all data before continuing.


If you are using a CD/DVD to install a virtual machine, make sure it is bootable and in working condition. Working condition means that you can use the disk to install the operating system on any other physical PC.


2ff7e9595c


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page